A Summer in Six More Songs

(Pictured: Peter Frampton and his fabulous hair, 1976.)

Earlier this month, in “A Summer in Six Songs,” I suggested that I could probably write the same post about the same summer with six different songs. Keeping in mind that sequels rarely live up to the original, here are six more songs plucked from the WLS survey dated August 21, 1976.

“The Boys Are Back in Town”/Thin Lizzy. In the summer of 1976 I remember now, I am in the car by myself, listening to the radio by myself, on the tractor by myself. I didn’t run with a gang of friends, apart from the softball team, and I only remember a few of their names today. The all-for-one, one-for-all camaraderie of “The Boys Are Back in Town” was yet to come.

“More, More, More”/Andrea True Connection. The sweaty business Andrea True was getting up to remained theoretical to me in the summer of 1976. I knew what it was, but how I’d contrive to get into some, I couldn’t quite see. It wouldn’t be long.

“You’ll Never Find Another Love Like Mine”/Lou Rawls. I did not grow up among the kind of people who joined the Klan, but in a place that was 100 percent white, where the vast majority had never even spoken to a black person. It led to a casual racism that came from ignorance rather than malice, and I was as ignorant as everybody else. But I loved soul music, too, and I would like to think that somewhere within me, I understood that people capable of such magnificent art were worthy of everyone’s respect.

“Baby I Love Your Way”/Peter Frampton. My wife grew up in two different houses; her parents moved away from her hometown when she was in college, so when she visited them ever after, she wasn’t “going home.” To this day, my parents are in the same house I grew up in, which has been their home since 1959. Let “Baby I Love Your Way,” and its strong images of sunsets, falling shadows, fireflies, and moonlight, stand for the place that anchors each of us, ancient or recent, wherever it might be.

“Young Hearts Run Free”/Candi Staton. A middle-class upbringing, then as now, continually pushes teenagers forward in time. Decide what you want to be. Make good grades so you can get into college. Put some money away. Be in a damn big hurry to get wherever you’re going. But Candi Staton says hold on a minute. Although she’s speaking specifically to young women, telling them not to be quick to tie themselves down with a man and a family, she’s saying to everyone that there will be time enough to accept the mantle of adulthood and the self-sacrifice that inevitably comes with it. While you’re young, be young.

“If You Know What I Mean”/Neil Diamond. “Here’s to the songs we used to sing / And here’s to the times we used to know / It’s hard to hold them in our arms again but hard to let them go.”

True dat.

4 responses

  1. MAJOR KUDO’s for including Neil Diamond! IMHO Neil has always been a vastly underappreciated artist (in the eyes of the critics). I DO realize that much of that was self-inflicted (i.e. “You Don’t Bring Me Striesand’s”, etc.). But on the whole Neil had (and continues to have – his 2014 album “Melody Road” was super!) a brilliant catalog of inspired & intriguing pop music. Rock on Neil. You da man!

  2. You’ll Never Find Another Love Like Mine is probably the most beautiful way to tell someone to Go Suck It!

  3. No matter the insipid, MOR stigma of his later work, Neil Diamond never did anything better than “If You Know What I Mean,” and the song is all but forgotten today.

    1. I used to play the snob and say that all I liked were Neil’s BANG records but that’s leaving out a lot of great stuff including “If You Know What I Mean,” which, even after all these years, really speaks to me.

Leave a Reply

