Top 5: Similarly Bent

Many of you know that I don’t have a “real” job, one that takes me out of the house every morning and brings me home every night. Some of the time, I’m a freelance writer who works from home, and some of the time I’m a radio jock—and every once in a while, those two gigs collide. Like this week, when by tomorrow I’ll have been on the air for 33 hours since Monday, and I’m approaching a deadline on a writing project besides.

The post you are about to read started off as a paragraph appended to yesterday’s, until I realized that, hey—I got five links there. And voila—it becomes this week’s Top Five. Not only is it in no particular order, it’s not even a list, really.

If you need another website at which to kill hours and hours, you can’t do better than the Second Disc, which calls itself “an all-purpose shop for those who are interested in the back catalogue offerings of the day.” Start with this review of the 40th anniversary CD/DVD edition of Simon and Garfunkel’s Bridge Over Troubled Water, which appears to be one of the most tremendous reissues of recent years, and this one of Neil Diamond’s The Bang Years: 1966-1968, which also sounds like it’s all kinds of awesome. (H/t to Scrubbles.net, which is another worthwhile place to visit, for mentioning the Second Disc.)

Over at Songs of the Cholera King, Kinky Paprika has been digging into the history of Bloodrock and their one-n-only hit single, “D.O.A.” This is apparently my fault, but I’m glad, because it’s resulted in two examples of music blogging at its best. Salon co-founder Scott Rosenberg once referred to blogging as “picking up [culture’s] remnants, tapping on them, figuring out which might be useful or diverting.” The connections Kinky describes in both posts would never have been discovered were it not for the bent curiosity of one guy. Thanks to the web, those of us similarly bent get to enjoy them, too.

Is that five? Enjoy the weekend, everybody.

3 responses

  1. I’m surprised that you of all people didn’t know about The Second Disc. Excellent stuff there, but I might go broke buying all the CDs they write about (the Jackie DeShannon and Doris Troy chief among them).

  2. Of all the things anyone’s ever called me, “bent” might be the best. Thank you.

  3. I made a special trip to our city’s finest indie record shop Tuesday morning for both the S&G and Diamond reissues. A little sad that it takes catalog to get me to show up on release day anymore (the deluxe edition of The Cure’s Disintegration inspired similar behavior a year ago). I’ve only watched the ’69 doc on the Bridge DVD so far but it’s enough to know I made a stellar purchase. It was the #1 album in Billboard the day I was born, so I’ve always felt an affinity.

    As for the Diamond, it’s awesome to be sure, though a full stereo/mono package theorized in the Second Disc review would be ideal, with or without the tracks Diamond didn’t initially authorize. Still, it’s his first two albums on legitimate CD. I’m grateful.

    Thanks for the tipoff to the Second Disc…I’ll be checking in with them frequently, especially as more news about the original SMiLE trickles forth.

Leave a Reply

